Washington, D.C.

What a great first stop on this journey. The weather could have been better (cold and rainy) but the company and activities were great.

I stayed with my nephew, Sam, in his apartment in Virginia. We headed into D.C. on Saturday morning for breakfast at a tavern on Capitol Hill near where I stayed with our school JH kids this spring (no taverns on that trip!). There was a market nearby where we sampled some delicious fruits. We made our way down the Mall to the Museum of American History, enjoying such sights as Julia Child’s kitchen, the First Lady’s gowns, and Abe Lincoln’s hat.

We had dinner with my cousin Tim and his wife,Becky in Virginia. On Sunday morning, Sam wasn’t feeling well so I took the metro into the city. I stumbled on to a Turkish festival (a preview to my trip to Istanbul in May) where I enjoyed some baklava. Later, I explored the Natural History Museum and the new WWII memorial.

Monday, Sandra Timko (a Southern Tier cycling friend) and I did a great bike ride along the bike path to Mt. Vernon, about 30 miles roundtrip. I’d seen Washington’s home before but it’s different as an adult. He hosted hundreds of visitors each year, a regular bed and breakfast. If my bag wasn’t so full, I could have bought books there. When I travel, it always ignites my curiosity about places and people I learn about. Sandra and I went to the Inn there for a delicious lunch with peanut and chestnut soup. George knew how to eat well! The bike path was great winding along the Potomac River and through historic Alexandria with its beautiful homes. I could see planes coming in to land at Reagan Airport (where I write now) and we only got lost a couple of times,including a detour where we did a little off road cycling.

Dinner was in Georgetown with college friends, Kathy Sanderson and Frank Sesno. It’s always great to connect with old friends and enjoy good food and conversation.

This morning I put my pack on my back and hiked over to the airport, a first for me- walking to my plane. Time to head out for my next leg of this journey. Next up- Chicago.

20111004-101440.jpg

20111004-101603.jpg

(I’ll keep trying to get pictures in the right place. No luck so far!)

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Phyllis Biegun

     /  October 4, 2011

    Love the pix of you and Sandra!

    Reply
  2. Connie

     /  October 4, 2011

    Sounds like a fun start to your trip. Can’t imagine walking to the airport! DC has so much to offer–we were last there at the end of our cross-country trip. Take care!

    Reply
  3. Sam

     /  October 5, 2011

    I had a blast! was so good to see you. Hope you have a great trip out west. Thanks for posting that pic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

